The purpose of governance is to provide confident and strong strategic leadership which leads to robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance. DfE Governance Handbook 2019

The Governing Body of William Austin Junior School meets as a full Governing Body and in committees with delegated powers to deliver the three core functions:

• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

• Ensuring the voices of stakeholders are heard

The Governing Body meet regularly throughout the year and individual governors have specific responsibilities connected to areas of the school.

Governor NameGovernor TypeCommittees/Responsibilities
Mr M Kashif (Chair)Parent• Leadership & Management
Mr W KhanCo-opted• Behaviour, Attitudes & Attendance
• Curriculum
Mrs U Aslam (Chair of the Curriculum Committee)Parent• Curriculum
• English & Phonics
Mrs J IntikhabParent• Curriculum
• Finance
• Maths

VacancyLA Governor
Mr G AbbasCo-opted• Safeguarding
• Safer Recruitment
• Curriculum
Mr K Ahmed (Chair of the Finance Committee)Co-opted• Finance
• Pay Review
• Pupil Premium
• Outcomes
Mr S Alyas (Vice Chair)Co-opted• Quality of education
• Pay Review
Mr R CowanNLG, Co-opted• Pay Review
• Finance
Mrs B KangCo-opted• Personal Development
• Staff and Pupil Wellbeing
• Curriculum
Mrs J AdamsHeadteacher• Finance
• Pay Review
• Leadership and Management
• Safeguarding
• Curriculum
Mrs J RoseStaff representative• Health & Safety
• Curriculum
Miss H CutcheyClerk to the Governors

Useful Documents

Code of Conduct 2023-24

Governors Terms of Reference

Governors Declaration of Interests

Governor Meeting Attendance 2022-23

Instrument of Governance

School Fund Auditors Report 22-23


Schools Financial Benchmark

If you wish to contact the Governing Body, please email either the Chair of Governors or the clerk:

Chair of Governors:

Clerk to Governors: